What are PDUs, Requirements, Various Categories, Earning PDUs

All About PMP PDUs

Understanding PDUs

Project management is a complex and ever-evolving set of methods, principles, and best practices. No wonder, then, that the Project Management Institute (PMI) claims that continuing education is an integral part of professional development for project managers. Therefore, PMI requires certain post-exam educational standards to be met in order to maintain certification status. These are called Professional Development Units (PDUs), these requirements may seem undefined at first, but this article provides guidance on the quantity, frequency, and availability of PDUs required to maintain certification. If you hold a Project Management Professional (PMP)® Certification, to maintain it, you’ll need to earn 60 PDUs This article will try to answer the question.

When do you need PDUs?

Five of the eight PMI certifications currently require Professional Development Units every three-year cycle. The exceptions are the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)®, which requires re-examination every five years, and the Portfolio Management Professional (PfMP), which is still in beta testing and does not currently require maintenance.

The remaining certifications require Certificate holders to have a PDU every three years as follows:

  1. Project Management Professional (PMP)® – 60 PDUs
  2. Program Management Professional (PgMP)® – 60 PDUs
  3. PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)® – 30 PDUs on Agile Principles and Practices
  4. PMI Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP)® – 30 PDU in Project Risk Management
  5. PMI Scheduling Professional (PMI-SP)® – 30 PDUs in Project Planning

Don’t Miss the 1000+ MCQ questions & hundreds of quizzes on PMP Knowledge Areas and Various important sections. 

PMI PDU Categories

PMI classifies each acceptable learning activity into one of six categories. The first three categories are directly related to vocational training and can be used without restriction to meet PDU requirements.

The PMI has divided PDUs into two categories:

  1. Education
  2. Giving Back to the Profession

The “Education” group is further divided into three sub-categories:

  1. Category A: Courses offered by the PMI’s Authorized Training Partners (ATPs), chapters, communities, and Global Accreditation Center (GAC). 
  2. Category B: Continuing Education
  3. Category C: Self-Directed Learning

The “Giving Back to the Profession” category is divided into three sub-categories:

  1. Category D: Creating New Project Management Knowledge
  2. Category E: Volunteer Service
  3. Category F: Working as a Professional in Project Management

Where can I get PDUs?

PDUs can be included in a variety of ways.

Courses from corporate training departments, professional associations, government agencies, and PMI chapters. Writing textbooks, peer-reviewed articles, non-peer-reviewed articles, and electronic newsletters. Creating blogs, creating and distributing podcasts, and volunteering.

Maintaining a PMI certification may seem daunting at first, but project managers typically agree that continuing education is essential to keep up with such a dynamic field. increase. With a variety of ways to earn PDUs, you’ll have no trouble choosing the Continuing Education program that fits your desired curriculum.

Don’t Miss the 1000+ MCQ questions & hundreds of quizzes on PMP Knowledge Areas and Various important sections.